ABOUT
RICHMOND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Brown’s Island and downtown Richmond

REAL PARTNERS. REAL SERVICE. REAL MISSION. 

Richmond Economic Development is your partner in achieving success. We work to build a vibrant and equitable economy in Richmond by encouraging business investment, job creation, strategic development, long-term growth, and community well-being.

OUR APPROACH

Richmond Economic Development combines the financing powers of the Economic Development Authority of the City of Richmond (Richmond EDA) and the staff expertise and programs of the City of Richmond Department of Economic Development to collaboratively attract, retain, and support business in Richmond, Virginia.

In partnership with the Mayor, City Council, and regional and state partners, we work to attract new commercial investment, increase tax revenue, and create new jobs in Richmond. A Board of Directors leads the Richmond EDA, and collectively our work is guided by the City's adopted Strategic Plan for Equitable Economic Development

OUR SERVICES

Whether you're relocating, expanding, or starting a new business, we're here to simplify your site selection with on-the-ground-knowledge, a robust property database, up-to-date demographic and area data, and more. We help you every step of your journey.

Our services include:

  • Real estate and site search
  • Market data
  • Real estate and development assistance
  • Connections to other economic development partners at the state, regional, and community level
  • Economic development incentives
  • Loan financing for specific project types

OUR IMPACT

Richmond Economic Development facilitates key investment and development activities, including the recent CoStar Group expansion and the Diamond District redevelopment efforts. In FY 2023, there was $2.58 billion in announced capital investments associated with announced economic development projects.

Learn more about Richmond's recent economic development successes in the FY 2023 Annual Report.

Our Team

Leonard Sledge

Leonard Sledge

DIRECTOR

804.646.7576
Leonard.Sledge@rva.gov

Read Bio

Statia Gibson

Statia Gibson

BUSINESS INVESTMENT & JOB CREATION 

804.646.6737
Statia.Gibson@rva.gov

Read Bio

Jacquelyn Craft

Jacquelyn Craft

BUSINESS RETENTION & EXPANSION

804.646.1823
Jacquelyn.Craft@rva.gov

Read Bio

Tara Worden

Tara Worden

RETAIL, TOURISM, & BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICTS

804.646.0723
Tara.Worden@rva.gov

Read Bio

Christopher Morris

Christopher Morris

BUDGET AND FINANCE

804.646.6631
Christopher.Morris@rva.gov

Read Bio

Glenna Chung

Glenna Chung

SENIOR EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

804.646.1507
Glenna.Chung@rva.gov

Read Bio

Katie McConnell

Katie McConnell

SENIOR DEPUTY DIRECTOR

804.646.3171
Katie.McConnell@rva.gov

Read Bio

Rick Winston

Rick Winston

LOAN & GRANT PROGRAMS

804.646.5036
Rick.Winston@rva.gov

Read Bio

George Bolos

George Bolos

CARE & ENTERPRISE PROGRAMS

804.646.0477
George.Bolos@rva.gov

Read Bio

Sam Earl

Sam Earl

BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE & PROGRAM COMPLIANCE

804.646.4248
Sam.Earl@rva.gov

Read Bio

Robert Cappellanti

Robert Cappellanti

MARKETING MANAGER

804.646.7438
Robert.Cappellanti@rva.gov

Read Bio